Balancing inquiry -open, guided or structured?

One of the issues I constantly grapple with is the balance of open, guided and structured inquiry in an early childhood (3-7 years) setting. At three and four years old, children are hard-wired as inquirers; they engage in self initiated inquiries as they go about their daily business of constructing meaning from the world around them. I find a strong emphasis on free inquiry, with some guided inquiry is developmentally appropriate. As children develop and mature, I find the balance changes. In a classroom with seven year olds I offer more opportunities for structured and guided inquiries while at the same time trying to ensure I leave enough time for open inquiry. (I think often we remove opportunities for open inquiry far to early in children’s developmental journeys.)

I am currently working with five year olds. I find that this particular group of children seems to need a lot of open inquiry. When I suggest a framework, the children often reject my ideas in favor of pursuing their own lines of inquiry. As part of our math curriculum, we have been focusing on sorting and categorizing objects. I felt that the children’s open inquiries had come to a standstill. I thought that a structured group inquiry might be the best way to challenge and extend the children’s thinking. I wasn’t sure how the session would go, given the children’s clear preference for open inquiry. The video clip below shows a five minute section of our sorting session.

As you watch the video look out for:

  • the concentration on each child’s face as they select shoes for their set
  • the concentration on the faces of the children watching as they problem-solve to work out the sorting criteria
  • the way the teacher thinks out loud to model problem solving strategies
  • the children’s admiration when someone works out the criteria
  • the way children explain their thinking
  • the way children agree or disagree with, and build on, other people’s theories
  • the “ah ha!” exclamations when a child thinks they’ve figured it out
  • the “oh no!” exclamations when they realize that their theory cannot be correct
  • the children’s delight when the criteria is revealed

 

I felt the session went well and met the developmental needs of the children. However the purpose of the structured inquiry was to extend the children’s thinking. I can’t tell if I have achieved that. Over the next weeks I shall be observing the children as they go about their open and guided in inquiries, looking for evidence of transfer from our structured inquiry.

I am interested to know how other people manage the balance of open, guided and structured inquiry with different grade levels.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Balancing inquiry -open, guided or structured?

  1. Pingback: Teaching Without A Plan….What?? | sonya terborg

Leave a Reply

