How we share the world: involving students in the inquiry and planning process

In the last unit, I kept my central idea a mystery and tried to provoke my students’ interests. This time, I will try another strategy. They will have everything on their platter ( refer poster). I will encourage students to help me plan the lessons. They will be given the option of choosing the graphic organizers which they think will best suit them, in order to pursue the lines of inquiry. In groups, they will decide which resources to use and will subsequently delegate work to each other. They will take total control of their learning. My students are new to PYP (inquiry-based learning).
So far, encouraging them to ask those “thick” questions has been a challenge. The whole of first week I will be reading books and showing them videos from the Planet Earth series as well as Discovery Education/ National Geographic.
They will be exposed to the concepts that drive the inquiry: responsibility, causation and connection. I hope this will help generate amazing questions.

Summary of Unit – Poster

Here is the link to the graphic organizers my students will be using.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

